Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Preview

Monday, March 21st, 2022 6:00 am

May the Force be with you.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will be released on consoles and PC in just a few short weeks, and SuperParent had the chance to learn more about the game at a recent preview presentation.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will allow players to play through all nine films in the three Star Wars trilogies. Each trilogy is split into a series of levels, and each level retells a portion of the story from one of the films through a combination of realism (that is, content inspired by the films) and Lego-themed humor.

If your family has played previously released Lego video games, such as Lego The Incredibles or even the previous Lego Star Wars titles, the basic gameplay setup here will likely feel familiar. Players will make their way through each stage by building and/or destroying Lego structures, defeating enemies in combat, and more.

The game has a new third-person camera perspective when compared to previous Lego titles. Plus, at certain points, levels may give players the chance to choose between two paths that they can take to complete a stage.

The game will feature over 300 playable characters to unlock over time. Each character has a “class” or “type,” such as “Jedi,” “Hero,” “Scavenger,” and “Protocol Droid” (among others), with different classes having different specialities and access to different skills.

Players will also be able to unlock a wide variety of flyable spaceships, as well as battle against other ships in space.

Similar to previous Lego games, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will feature tons of collectibles for players to gather. For one, there will be over 1,000 Kyber bricks to collect, which serve as a kind of currency that can be used to purchase upgrades for the different character classes, as well as upgrades that apply to every character (like a maximum health upgrade).

Source: TT Games

In between levels, players will be able to freely explore a variety of “hub” worlds in order to collect Kyber bricks, complete side quests, and more. Players may be able to see some Kyber bricks out in the open as they play, and they can discover others on their own by exploring the game’s different environments.

Finally, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will allow players to play on their own, as well as team up with another person for some cooperative multiplayer gameplay. When two players in the same room team up, the game switches to a split-screen format.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will be released on Switch, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X/S, Xbox One, and PC on April 5, 2022. The game is rated E10+ for Everyone 10+ by the ESRB.

Once players purchase the base game, they’ll have the option to purchase additional packs of playable characters through individual purchase or a Season Pass. You can learn more about this downloadable content in our previous coverage.

Is your family looking forward to playing Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga? Let us know on Twitter at @superparenthq.

Brandy Berthelson

Brandy Berthelson has been writing about video games and technology since 2006, with her work appearing on sites including AOL Games, Digital Spy, and Adweek. When she’s not gaming, Brandy enjoys crafting, baking, and traveling with her husband.

SuperParent © 2024 | All Rights Reserved.