Wonder Boy Collection: A SuperParent First Look

Wednesday, June 1st, 2022 10:24 am

The collection includes four games from the 'Wonder Boy' franchise.

ININ Games and Bliss Brain will release Wonder Boy Collection on Switch and PlayStation 4 on June 3, 2022. We had the chance to try the game before it’s released.

The Wonder Boy Collection includes four games from the Wonder Boy franchise:

  • Wonder Boy (from 1986)
  • Wonder Boy in Monster Land (from 1987)
  • Wonder Boy in Monster World (from 1991)
  • Monster World IV (from 1994)

The game’s main menu provides players with a brief history of the four games they can choose from. Players can also choose their desired game from this screen.

Source: ININ Games, Bliss Brain

Once players select a game, they can view the game’s controls and change settings that are specific to that game before they actually begin playing. For instance, in the original Wonder Boy, players can choose from two difficulty levels. They can also set how many lives they want to start with, and so on.

During each game, players can rewind and fast-forward their gameplay at any time by pressing the appropriate button(s). This means players can rewind their game if they make a mistake or lose a life and would like to try a section again.

Source: ININ Games, Bliss Brain

Players can also save their progress at any time. Each game supports up to six save states, and players can load a save state whenever they want to pick up where they previously left off.

Finally, the Wonder Boy Collection features a Gallery where players can view artwork related to the Wonder Boy games.

The Wonder Boy Collection will be released on Switch and PlayStation 4 on June 3, 2022 for $29.99. The game is rated E for Everyone by the ESRB.

Later this year, Strictly Limited Games will release the Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection for Switch and PlayStation 4. This collection will feature the four games in the Wonder Boy Collection, as well as two additional games: Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair from 1988 and Wonder Boy: The Dragon’s Trap from 1989. Players can pre-order the Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection on the Strictly Limited Games website.

While the games in the Wonder Boy Collection are generally family-friendly, parents should know the game contains references to alcoholic beverages. Some of the games also feature lots of on-screen text, so players need to know how to read. Finally, we noticed some grammatical and spelling issues in some of the game’s text.

Check out some gameplay from the Wonder Boy Collection on Switch in our video below.

Disclosure: SuperParent received a code for the Wonder Boy Collection for coverage purposes.

Brandy Berthelson

Brandy Berthelson has been writing about video games and technology since 2006, with her work appearing on sites including AOL Games, Digital Spy, and Adweek. When she’s not gaming, Brandy enjoys crafting, baking, and traveling with her husband.

SuperParent © 2024 | All Rights Reserved.