Minecraft Armored Paws Drop Brings Armadillos, New Wolf Variations to Java, Bedrock

Tuesday, April 23rd, 2024 3:44 pm

Players can now collect eight new varieties of wolves!

The Armored Paws Drop is now available for Minecraft: Java Edition and Minecraft: Bedrock Edition.

This update allows Minecraft players to encounter a new friendly mob, the armadillo, as well as find eight new variations of the wolf mob and create armor for their tamed wolves.

Armadillos can be found in the Savanna and Badlands biomes. They’ll curl up into a cube if players approach too quickly or otherwise scare them. Players can brush an armadillo to collect a valuable new crafting resource called a scute. Armadillos may also randomly drop scutes as they wander around the in-game world. Unfortunately, armadillos can’t be tamed.

An armadillo in the Minecraft video game
Source: Mojang

Players can use scutes to craft wolf armor, which can be equipped onto tamed wolves to protect them from a limited amount of damage. Wolf armor can be dyed multiple colors, and the color of the armor doesn’t have to match the color of a wolf’s collar.

A wolf wearing wolf armor in the Minecraft video game
Source: Mojang

According to the Minecraft Wiki, wolf armor has a limited durability, and will not protect wolves from things like drowning, freezing, or suffocating, among other hazards. You can learn more about the way wolf armor works on the Minecraft Wiki.

In terms of the game’s new wolf variations, this update adds the Black Wolf, Ashen Wolf, Chestnut Wolf, Rusty Wolf, Striped Wolf, Woods Wolf, Spotted Wolf, and Snowy Wolf to the game. The game’s preexisting wolf (which was available before this update was released) has been renamed to the “Pale Wolf.”

The Woofs Wolf in the Minecraft video game
Source: Mojang

Each of the game’s wolf variations can now be found in a different biome. According to the Minecraft Wiki, the different wolf variations can be found in the following biomes:

  • Ashen Wolf – Snowy Taiga
  • Black Wolf – Old Growth Pine Taiga
  • Chestnut Wolf – Old Growth Spruce Taiga
  • Pale Wolf (the game’s preexisting wolf) – Taiga
  • Rusty Wolf – Sparse Jungle
  • Snowy Wolf – Grove
  • Spotted Wolf – Savanna Plateau
  • Striped Wolf – Wooded Badlands
  • Woods Wolf – Forest

You can read more about Minecraft’s Armored Paws Drop on Minecraft’s official website.

Are you excited to find these new armadillos and wolf variations in Minecraft? Let us know on Twitter at @superparenthq.

Brandy Berthelson

Brandy Berthelson has been writing about video games and technology since 2006, with her work appearing on sites including AOL Games, Digital Spy, and Adweek. When she’s not gaming, Brandy enjoys crafting, baking, and traveling with her husband.

SuperParent © 2024 | All Rights Reserved.